top of page
Dr Patricia Rodriguez Macia

Dr Patricia Rodriguez-Macia

Lecturer (Asst Prof) in Inorganic Chemistry

 School of Chemistry & Leicester Institute of Chemical and Structural Biology (LICSB)
University of Leicester

Career History

Patricia earned her bachelor's degree in Chemistry from the University of Alicante in Spain. She completed her final year of studies and final project in Chemistry at Aarhus University in Denmark with an Erasmus scholarship. Later, she moved to Germany to perform an internship at the Leibniz-Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe GmbH (IVW) research institute with a European Leonardo Da Vinci Fellowship and a second internship at the CAESAR Max Planck Institute in Bonn. In 2014, Patricia started her PhD studies in the Biophysical Chemistry Department at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI-CEC) working under the supervision of Prof. Wolfgang Lubitz. Her PhD focused on the application of electrochemistry and infrared spectroscopy in mechanistic studies of hydrogenases and bio-inspired synthetic catalysts. She was awarded the Ernst Haage Prize in 2017 for her doctoral work.

After finishing her PhD, Patricia took up a postdoctoral position in the Inorganic Spectroscopy Department at the MPI-CEC in the group of Prof. Serena DeBeer, where she applied X-ray spectroscopy to study metalloenzymes for energy conversion. In January 2020, she joined the Chemistry Department at the University of Oxford as a Postdoctoral Research Associate in the group of Prof. Kylie Vincent. In 2021, she was awarded the prestigious Glasstone Research Fellowship in Science to start her independent research group hosted within the Vincent group. She is a Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry (MRSC) and from 2020-2023 she was an EPA  Cephalosporin Junior Research Fellow at Linacre College in the University of Oxford. In 2022, Patricia was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry IBDG Early Career Award in recognition of her interdisciplinary approaches to studying metalloenzyme mechanisms, being named "future start" in bioinorganic chemistry.

From April 2023, she started as a Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry in the School of Chemistry at the University of Leicester and a group leader in the Leicester Institute for Chemical and Structural Biology (LISCB).

Awards & Merits

2023 - Royal Society Research Grant

2022 - RSC Research Enablement Grant

2022 - BBSRC IAA Proof of Concept Grant

2022 - IBDG's 2022 Early Career Researcher Award

2021 - Glasstone Research Fellowship in Science

2021 - Public Engagement with Research (PER) Fund

2020 - Linacre College JRF Grant for research purposes

2020 - E P A Cephalosporin Junior Research Fellowship (JRF)

2017 - Ernst Haage Prize for Doctoral Students. Best Dissertation 2017

2017 - Nominated for the Otto Hahn Medal from the Max Planck Society

2017 - Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting - Selected Participant

2016 - Best Poster Award. XXI International Hydrogenase Conference, Marseille (France)

2015 - Best Poster Award. XXIII International Symposium on Bioelectrochemistry and Bioenergetics, Malmö (Sweden)

2014 - Max Planck Society Stipend for Doctoral Students

2013 - Max Planck Society Stipend for Internship (2013)

2012 - Leonardo Da Vinci Fellowship

2010-2011 - Erasmus Fellowship



  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page